My vivid skirt and self expression.

Aviary Photo_130740892732051902

I picked this outfit for my first post because it’s one of my favourites at the moment. Approaching my first post is hard, trying to work out what it is that I want to say. Now those of you who know me in person, I’m not often lost for words. In fact I love talking.

Aviary Photo_130740892538882884

The A-line skirt with pleats is a perfect shape for work (I’ve collected three so far!). The white shirt, without buttons is smart, providing the look of a traditional shirt without the irritation of a button-down style which gapes in a thoroughly ungainly fashion (can I get a hell yeah from my big busted friends?!). I love the sheer shoulder detail, which takes a simple t-shirt style to the next level. I normally add a black blazer to the ensemble particularly as Canberra transitions from autumn into winter.

DSC04172_edited

My favourite part though, is the vivid orange of the skirt which breaks the monotony of drab office furniture, grey suits and computer screen tans.  I feel like the skirt in a lot of ways speaks for me. It is vivid and perhaps a little too loud and frivolous for my office. Writing this first post, I was trying to select something that at least presents an honest version of what I’m about, which I think this outfit does to some extent, its colour composition is bright and colourful, vivid and maybe a bit frivolous; but its shape and look is professional and serious.

Capture

I read this week, an article about a woman who chooses to wear essentially the same outfit every day (http://www.businessinsider.com.au/woman-wears-same-work-outfit-matilda-kahl-2015-4) to work. All the power to her, and indeed men have been doing this for years – heard of a suit anyone? But I have to admit, I do enjoy the joy of picking an outfit every day, it is a way to decide what version of myself I want to be that day. It can be an expression of my personality in a hectic business day.

Leave a Reply

